6 Comments

Hi Ian, I've enjoyed all your posts, congratulations on the good and precious work! The news round-ups are great, they save me a lot of time. The interviews, in-depth papers are really good too. Since you're asking, I think there is a lack of coverage (and I am not talking about GR here) of the so called "responsible turn" in the mining industry. Initiatives like IRMA and others have been pushing for a reform of the mining codes for quite a while now but with, unfortunately, little success ; at least little success globally. But I think there are stories to be written (and read!). Most of what we get at the moment are positive stories from industrialists (and affiliated). A critical approach to this responsible turn with a specific focus on raw materials needed for the energy transition would be very relevant. (nb: I am an environmental historian, trying to do just this).

Again, many thanks for the good work!

Expand full comment

In general, I am very thankful you are writing this newsletter. It's been an accessible read for someone isn't in the weeds on the topic. I have no specific feedback as I've enjoyed it all, but I do hope to learn your take on Conglomerate Mesa in Inyo County, CA, at some point, if you haven't already. For example, do we really need to mine for gold or would it not be needed as much if society was better at e-waste recycling?

Expand full comment